Can I ground my club in a hazard ?
⛳ You sure can — nowadays! The rules changed in 2019, and what used to be called “hazards” are now referred to as penalty areas. That includes water hazards and lateral hazards marked by red or yellow stakes.
Here’s what’s allowed now:
✅ You can ground your club in a penalty area before making your stroke.
✅ Practice swings that touch the ground are also permitted.
✅ You can remove loose impediments like sticks or leaves — just don’t move your ball in the process.
❌ You still can’t ground your club in a bunker where your ball lies — that rule remains strict.
This update was designed to make the game more forgiving and enjoyable, especially for casual players2.
Can I ground my club in a bunker ?
Today
can i ground my club in a bunker
🏌️♂️ Not quite! According to the current Rules of Golf, you cannot ground your club in a bunker when your ball is lying in that bunker. That means:
❌ No touching the sand with your club right in front of or behind the ball before making your stroke.
❌ No grounding during practice swings or backswing in the same bunker.
✅ You can touch the sand in other bunkers (not the one your ball is in) during practice swings.
✅ You can place clubs in the bunker, lean on one for balance, or smooth the sand after your shot without penalty2.
The idea is to preserve the challenge of playing from sand. If you do ground your club improperly, it’s a two-stroke penalty in stroke play or loss of hole in match play.
If you’re ever unsure mid-round, Rule 12.2b is your go-to. Want help remembering bunker do’s and don’ts with a quick cheat sheet?